New Mix

DJ Mix Recording

Just playing around with testing to record a mix with my new DJ gear. This was done into the mic input of my laptop so im not sure if the sound quality is amazing. Its quite a compressed mp3 too which I didnt realise.

Keep in mind the mixing sorta sucks too. I did the whole thing in my headphones.

Enjoy:

Blaze Mix 9th October 2006 (Right click, Save Target/Link As)

NOTE: I HAVE RECORDED MANY MORE MIXES SINCE THIS POST THAT ARE MUCH BETTER QUALITY & WITH FULL TRACKLISTS ETC. HEAD OVER TO MY LAST.FM JOURNAL FOR ALLTHE LATEST MIXES WITH MP3 LINKS

Tracks Include songs by Quesh, Les Rythmes Digitales, Chromeo, MSTRKRFT & more….

Update: I recorded this mix with my mic input on my laptop and well I have now worked out that the mic really isnt the best option for recording an audio except for… you guessed it… your voice. Honestly though, I thought laptop makers would made an easy way to get a line-in input going. Ah well you can still enjoy the mix, just next time I’ll have to drag my desktop pc into the dj room ;)

Also posted on Last.FM

11 comments so far

  1. blaze on

    Just so everyone knows, I am aware i was cueing up a song there while it was still in the mix but didnt realise until about a minute later :p Ah well. Shoot me ;)

  2. Victor on

    Sweet mix Blaze. Digging the funkiness of the “let me show you how i work work work….” track.

  3. N.C. on

    I have no clue whatsoever with DJ’s, but do you “scratch” at all? It’s pretty sweet and I’ve always wanted to work with DJ’s. Nice work. Did you compose all the parts? The drums? vocs? etc? Or do you just get samples off people and mix it up? *No clue in DJ’s*

  4. blaze on

    Well basically N.C. a DJ doesn’t do anything too special apart from playing music and mixing it together nicely. Some DJ’s (with producing backgrounds) mix their own songs & other DJs can mix their own edits of other songs etc. Basically though it’s about:

    - Track Selection (getting good tracks and playing them in a good order)

    - Reading the Crowd (are they falling asleep? play something faster :p)

    - Good Mixing ability (basically keep the music going without fucking up).

  5. N.C. on

    Thanks blaze, now I know the basics of DJ work.

  6. blaze on

    Keep in mind when you see a gig with Dj’s and then you see (live show) after the name, it usually mean the dj is a producer who is somehow mixing their music up live using their own beats they have created n stuff. One piece of software that lets you do this is called Ableton Live. But yeah, that’s just another distinction for you too ;)

  7. Keaney on

    Blaze, i pretty much have the same setup as you with 2 cdj800s and a djm 600 but encounter the same problem with the poor quality of the recording via a laptop, does anyone know of any programs that would enhance the quality or any external hardware I could connect up to?
    Cheers
    Keaney

  8. blaze on

    Hey mate I just did another mix, I had to use my desktop computer and drag it in the mixing room but it worked a treat. Just record it with cooledit or audition and you can check levels as you’re going. Oh and it need to go into your “line-in” not your mic input. So you either need a desktop pc or an external soundcard or an MD player or something. Hope that helps.

  9. kistov on
  10. avi on

    ebonytrixx com,

  11. kudrjash on

    www 2chip com,


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

